Windows 8 OS clone.

Jaymeh

Honorable
Jan 7, 2013
Hi Guys, Newbie here.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Having a bit of an issue with cloning my system disk. I have a relatively new build pc, with just a single 120gb OCZ agility 3 SSD drive. I purchased a second OCZ vertex4 256gb drive primarily as a storage drive. However I decided to see if I could clone the old drive onto the new one, because I had discovered that the vertex 4 was supposedly quicker and more reliable, whilst giving more storage for any program installed on C:.

I quickly realised that this was not as easy as it sounds. I tried a couple of different ways, eventually using EaseUS partition master and it's upgrade drive option. This appeared to have worked, with it migrating the Boot and system traits (as seen in disk management) to the new drive, and D: showing up as the main drive in my computer. However after disconnecting the original drive to test this, the new drive booted into windows but First thing I noticed was my normal log in screen background was gone, with no profile picture. However my user name and password were still the same. On entering the password it just got stuck on the 'Welcome' message and did not load the desktop.

I tried booting with the windows disk, and used the command prompt and diskpart to check how the partions/volumes looked. From what I could see, the new vertex was down as the C: drive yet it wouldn't load windows.

I can still boot from the original drive, so was wondering is there a quick fix? or am I just being stupid, and should stick with the original system drive and format the new one for storage. Would the performance gains from all this trouble be even worth it? Or should I have just gone with a good old 1tb HDD as a file dump?

Sorry if it's vague, I'll answer any specific questions you may have.

Many Thanks.

Jamie

chugot9218

Honorable