XFX R9 280X 3GB - Strange No Signal/Detection Issue - Please Help!

Lorien Silmaril

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2014
Hello everyone, I have a strange video card issue that I really need help with.

I have an old Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 1GB that I wish to upgrade. I purchased a XFX R9 280X 3GB from ebay a few days ago. The new card powered up, but I got no signal to the monitor. I used the integrated graphics to boot into Windows, and noticed that the new card was not being detected by Windows at all.

Yes, I installed everything correctly - I've been building PC's for almost 15 years. My power supply is a 700W Raidmax RX-700AC, which should have plenty of juice for this card... but my first theory was that the card somehow wasn't getting enough power anyway (the RX-700AC has two 6+2pin PCI-E power connectors, but they branch out from a single cable).

I took the card to the local Fry's and had them test it for me, and the technicians there said the card worked in their computer. Alright, so I figured it was an issue with my power supply. I purchased a EVGA SuperNova G2 750 (which is a very highly-rated unit and shouldn't have any issues powering the 280x) to replace the Raidmax.

Hooked up the new PSU, still nothing from the 280X. Out of frustration I put my old 6870 back in (in the second PCI-E slot), figured I would use that in the meantime while keeping the 280X in the first slot for troubleshooting.

To my surprise, the 280X suddenly came to life. The monitor got signal, Windows detected the card, and I was able to install the drivers successfully. Now I was determined to make this card work, so I tried all sorts of configurations... and here are the results:

1) In single-GPU configurations (with the 280X as the sole card in the machine), the 280X simply would NOT work regardless of which PCI-E slot it's installed in. The motherboard does detect it, but lists it with the PCI-E ratio of 0x. Windows does not see it at all.