Yawgmoth's Will question

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Yawgmoth's Will
Color= Black Type= Sorcery Cost= 2B US(R)
Text (US+errata): Until end of turn, you may play cards in your graveyard as
though they were in your hand. ; If a card would be put into your graveyard
this turn, remove that card from the game instead. [Oracle 1999/07/21]

Ok, let's say my lands are three swamps at main 1. I have a Dark Ritual in
hand and draw Yawgmoth's Will. Were I to tap one swamp to cast Dark Ritual, it
resolves and is put into my graveyard. I now have 3 black mana which I spend
to cast Yawgmoth's Will. Is that Dark Ritual cast earlier, and already
resolved, available for my use, or must it be moved instead to the out of game
zone due to the effect of Yawgmoth's Will that now occurs? (i.e. I'm not sure
if the Will applies to cards already played this turn before it begins
affecting play).
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

lbradh@aol.commmono (LBradH) writes:
> Yawgmoth's Will
> Color= Black Type= Sorcery Cost= 2B US(R)
> Text (US+errata): Until end of turn, you may play cards in your
> graveyard as though they were in your hand. ; If a card would be put
> into your graveyard this turn, remove that card from the game
> instead. [Oracle 1999/07/21]
>
> Ok, let's say my lands are three swamps at main 1. I have a Dark
> Ritual in hand and draw Yawgmoth's Will. Were I to tap one swamp to
> cast Dark Ritual, it resolves and is put into my graveyard. I now
> have 3 black mana which I spend to cast Yawgmoth's Will. Is that
> Dark Ritual cast earlier, and already resolved, available for my
> use,

Yes. It's in your graveyard, so you can play it is though it were in
your hand.

> or must it be moved instead to the out of game zone due to the
> effect of Yawgmoth's Will that now occurs? (i.e. I'm not sure if
> the Will applies to cards already played this turn before it begins
> affecting play).

Nothing in Magic is retroactive. The "this turn" in the second ability
is just referring to when the effect ends. The effect starts when YW
resolves and ends during the cleanup step at the end of the
turn. During that time, cards won't end up in your graveyard.

--
Peter C.
"And there was sleep deprivation only juniors can know,
And seniors haven't worked off yet..."
-- Jessi, "random memorabilia in nonprose form"
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Thanks for the reply. Amazingly enough, just after I posted this question I
saw a clarification at Crystal Keep that I had overlooked that said just what
you posted.

As always, thanks to everyone for your patience and help with my moronic
questions.


>Nothing in Magic is retroactive. The "this turn" in the second ability
>is just referring to when the effect ends. The effect starts when YW
>resolves and ends during the cleanup step at the end of the
>turn. During that time, cards won't end up in your graveyard.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

LBradH <lbradh@aol.commmono> wrote:
>Yawgmoth's Will
>Until end of turn, you may play cards in your graveyard as
>though they were in your hand. ; If a card would be put into your graveyard
>this turn, remove that card from the game instead.

For better comprehension, read it as though it said "Until end of turn, you
may play cards in your graveyard. / If a card..."

>Ok, let's say my lands are three swamps at main 1. I have a Dark Ritual in
>hand and draw Yawgmoth's Will. Were I to tap one swamp to cast Dark Ritual, it
>resolves and is put into my graveyard. I now have 3 black mana which I spend
>to cast Yawgmoth's Will. Is that Dark Ritual cast earlier, and already
>resolved, available for my use, or must it be moved instead to the out of game
>zone due to the effect of Yawgmoth's Will that now occurs?

Are you now putting a Dark Ritual card into your graveyard? No, it is already
there. The second part of YW's effect doesn't do anything to cards already IN
your graveyard when YW resolves; it sets up a continuous effect which lasts
until end of turn, which puts any _later_ cards going into the graveyard into
the RFG zone instead. Starting, just about always, with Yawgmoth's Will itself
as the first card that gets removed.

The Dark Ritual that earlier went to your graveyard is available to be cast
(played) out of that graveyard once YW has resolved, though note that this
time it'll end up removed from the game after you cast and resolve it.

> (i.e. I'm not sure
>if the Will applies to cards already played this turn before it begins
>affecting play).

It does not; nothing in Magic is "retroactive". If it removed what was already
there it would be worded "Remove your graveyard from the game. Until end of
turn, you may play cards in your graveyard. / If a card would be put into..."
.... and would be a Singularly Pointless card, and not at all useful in most
circumstances, since there wouldn't be anything you COULD play using its last
allowance.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

LBradH sez:

<<
>Ok, let's say my lands are three swamps at main 1. I have a Dark Ritual in
>hand and draw Yawgmoth's Will. Were I to tap one swamp to cast Dark Ritual,
it
>resolves and is put into my graveyard. I now have 3 black mana which I spend
>to cast Yawgmoth's Will. Is that Dark Ritual cast earlier, and already
>resolved, available for my use, or must it be moved instead to the out of game
>zone due to the effect of Yawgmoth's Will that now occurs?
>
>>

No. Nothing happens retroactively in Magic. Which means the Will only affects
cards that would be put into your graveyard AFTER the Will resolves and takes
effect. (And that means you can use your Dark Ritual again after the Will
takes effect.)


----
If [Michael Moore] makes a mistake in [F 9/11], it's not that he's careless
with the facts ... It's that he suggests Bush is the cause of our problems,
when, in fact, Bush is just the result.
--The Libertarian Lessons of Fahrenheit 9/11