[SOLVED] 2 Virtual Machines running off of one host OS?

MatthewD

Honorable
May 12, 2014
Hi, all! I'm very new to networking/OS stuff so please bear with me.

I've been tasked with building a PC for my father's business and he specifically wants to run three systems off of one rig. I've never used virtual machines but I understand their function. He wants the tower to be in the media room, which is separate from the three offices that need their own OS.

So my question is: What's the best way for me to have three monitors and keyboards/mice interfacing with their own unique virtual machine off of one host PC? Is this possible?

Solution
If I'm understanding you correctly, what you're talking about is a Thin Client setup. Each office connects to an OS running on a single machine (in your media room). As stated above, each office would need it's own, simple computer in order to connect to the Virtual Machine OS. A quick Google on the subject suggests using Raspberry Pi systems for each office to connect to the Virtual Machine OSes.

So start with a system with sufficient resources (like the one suggested above), plus three client systems. Personally, I'd start out cheap with a set up like this and get it working. Let your father KNOW that this is an ADHOC solution akin to tin-cans, string, and duct tape, but it should work. If he wants reliability, he needs more budget...
D

Deleted member 14196

to use a vm they still need a client pc to connect.
we use Ryzen 2700X with 64GB RAM and SSDs to be our workstations that host multiple vms, still need a client, even a cheapo $250 laptop

otherwise, any other way is way too expensive, might as well just lease a server from DELL and some workstations.

you will need VMware, not the cheap crappy vms like oracle (so horrible) and MS are junk by comparison. and VMware Workstation is not cheap.

Reactions: MatthewD

Wolfshadw

Titan