[SOLVED] 3080 - MSI X Trio VS ASUS Strix

Dawis67_AE

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2014
Hello, im 1 hour away from the 3080 launch where i live, and im torn between MSI and ASUS models. The price of MSI is 1033USD (9 390NOK) and the ASUS is 1121USD (10 190NOK), here in Norway. As you can see, some price difference.

The build im going for is white themed, and from the looks of these cards, ASUS looks like it might fit in better, but i dont want my choice to be based purely on looks.

-What is the reason (suspected reason at least, due to lack of reviews) for the MSI being cheaper?
-What makes ASUS card better (maybe you can tell from experience with previois MSI vs ASUS), if at all?
-Which would you go for?

Also, im considering doing some overclocks to the card, and both require 3x8pin, so thats good. However im not experienced overclocker at all, so i dont really know how hard im gonna push.

Anyways, leave your thoughts, hopefully before the launch where im at.

Solution
What you talking about? 3DGuru review states that their card drew 360W.

"Power consumption of the Gaming X might look scary at first: triple 8-pin power inputs, up to 425 W in Furmark, 315 W typical gaming. Actually, if we take the performance gain over FE into account there's no loss in power efficiency—4% faster, 4% more power. Good, usually custom designs compromise on some efficiency to achieve higher performance. While three 8-pins are a little bit more complicated to use than dual 8-pins, it's a reasonable choice, as that gave MSI enough power headroom to achieve meaningful performance gains. That's why I find it surprising that MSI has set the manual power limit adjustment range for overclocking to just 350 W, which is...
Just my thoughts....I have had many ASUS products and I don't recall a failure. I recall failures of many other branded products I've owned (not necessarily MSI however). So that being said...I try to stick with ASUS when I can. I've had ASUS MBs...GPUs and displays.