Question 653GB of storage missing?

Aug 5, 2023
I have a Silicon Power 1TB SSD. I recently did a clean install of windows 11 on my PC. The Windows.old file was something like 550GB and I only had about 10GB of storage left on my PC so I wanted to clean up some space. I made a backup of the Windows.old file on and external drive and deleted the original file from my PC. After this however I still had almost no storage left (still about 10GB remaining) . My computer says I should have 953GB of available storage after necessary windows files but both TreeSize and WinDirStat (I ran both with and without admin permission) say I only have about 300GB of available storage on my drive.
Here are some images to show my issue: View: https://imgur.com/a/bVFnM8f

I am not very good with technology so I am not sure if this just has something to do with the clean install of windows or something else. From what I can understand Is that out of my 953GB of available storage I only have access/influence over 300GB meaning I have approximately 653GB of storage used that I cannot delete/remove/or use. I would obviously love to have some, if not all of that storage back so I can use it for games, programs, recordings, etc, or at least just understand what is going on.

Misgar

Respectable
Mar 2, 2023
When you delete a file in Windows, it goes into the Recycle Bin (unless you hold down the Shift key) where it continues to take up space on the drive.

This space only becomes free when you delete the file from the Recycle Bin. It's a two-stage process, in case you decide to recover a file deleted by mistake.

The Recycle BIn only has a finite capacity and I'm surprised there was enough room to hold a 550GB Windows Old file.

If you have backed up the Windows.old file, open the Recycle Bin, select 'Recycle Bin Tools' and judiciously delete anything you don't need, to free up space.

sonofjesse

Distinguished