a little help please

G

This is just my second post here and I'm just looking for very simple information I can understand!

I'm upgrading from a Duron 800 processor to an AMD 1500.My case is an e-star 230w with two fans installed, and I'm planning to get a Maxtor DiamondMaxPlus9 80GB HD.

My questions are three:

1.what kind of motherboard and cpu do you recommend to be compatible with my case without overheating it?

2. will the psu be up to running the new HDD as well as my existing one and a cd writer?

3.I'm just starting out doing semi-professional web graphics, so I need a video card that is pretty damn good. What do you recommend?

My current card is a 32MB GEFORCE" MX AGP. Is it good enough,or can I do better and still be compatible with the rest of my specs?

And will I be able to disable any onboard video/sound card that comes with the motherboard?

Any help really welcome. I'm sitting here not knowing what move to make first. My boyfriend hasn't a clue about technical stuff and I'm just learning as I go along.
Thanks
AngelAlice

GeneticWeapon

Splendid
Jan 13, 2003
I'm just looking for very simple information I can understand!
I'll talk slow...
My case is an e-star 230w with two fans installed
Is that ATX, Micro ATX, SSF...??....big?, little?
what kind of motherboard and cpu do you recommend to be compatible with my case without overheating it?
Didnt you already say you were getting an AMD 1500?, I'ts also hard to recommend you a motherboard not knowing what size you case is. I dont feel like googling to find out your case dimensions. Just try to get a motherboard with an Nvidia Nforce2 chipset on it.
will the psu be up to running the new HDD as well as my existing one and a cd writer?
I wouldnt worry about your HDD or other drives needing more power, I would worry about a modern graphics card needing more. You should at least have 350watts.