[SOLVED] AIO CFM measures total of all fans or per fan?

Nov 25, 2019
I've been wanting to replace my CPU's stock cooler and I've got my eyes on Cooler Master's MasterLiquid ML240R. In the specifications, it says the max CFM is 66.7. I've also looked at the fans they use (which are the MasterFan MF120R) and they say their max CFM is 59. I'm wondering if the CFM rating for the AIO takes the total CFM of both fans and it drops significantly due to air resistance or have they modified their fans and each gives a 66.7 CFM? The mmH2O also changes from 2.14 on the fans to 2.34 on the AIO.

P.S. is 2.14/2.34 mmH2O a high enough pressure? I'm new to AIO cooling

Edit: Links here
AIO: https://www.coolermaster.com/catalo...olers/masterliquid-ml240r-rgb/#Specifications
Fans:https://www.coolermaster.com/catalog/coolers/case-fan/masterfan-mf120r-argb/#Specifications

Last edited:
Solution
Cfm by itself is useless info. It needs to be balanced against static pressure, fin density, fin depth, rpm etc. Afaik the cfm they refer to is what's moved on the back side of the rad, regardless of what's actually output from the fans, at rated maximum rpm of the fans.

Which if the aio is balanced against the load, should never happen except in performance mode during a stress test.

The ML240R is the best of the ML240 series, and a respectable aio in its own right, usually placing in the top 5.

Ranking by cfm won't get you a better AIO, or better fans, the Noctua NF-F12 has lower cfm than many other radiator rated fans, yet is arguably the best radiator fan produced so far.

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
Cfm by itself is useless info. It needs to be balanced against static pressure, fin density, fin depth, rpm etc. Afaik the cfm they refer to is what's moved on the back side of the rad, regardless of what's actually output from the fans, at rated maximum rpm of the fans.

Which if the aio is balanced against the load, should never happen except in performance mode during a stress test.