Question AIO Liquid cooler issues on pre-built PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vovin

Commendable
Mar 14, 2019
Hey guys, so I acquired a new PC a few weeks ago. It's not exactly cutting-edge, but compared to my old 7+ year old PC it is generations ahead and overall it is great so far. However, there are a couple things that I feel were not optimized properly during manufacturer assembly. It's not practical to return anything, so I need to figure this stuff out for myself.

Specs:
Processor: i7-8700
Motherboard: Tuf H310M-PLUS
GPU: GTX 1060

I have some limited experience building/upgrading PCs, but I am by no means an expert. One brand new thing for me with this new PC was that it came with an AIO liquid cooler (Cooler Master ML120L). Compared to other new PCs I've seen, this thing is substantially louder, and sometimes the cooler would really ramp up significantly especially under load. It also makes a concerning water gurgling sound often. That being said, it is more than sufficient at doing its job as a cooler. Also note: I do have two fans at front of PC.

So I did some checking and apparently this specific AIO liquid cooler is on the cheaper-end; that being said, it is still supposed to be audibly silent. Further checking revealed that apparently you are supposed to do some specific bIOS configurations for this cooler after physically installing it to optimize it. Apparently, you should see both the rad fan and the water pump listed in bIOS, where you can play with their settings; the water pump particularly is supposed to be at 100% at all times.