AMD Overclocking Club

Page 41 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

pablo3264

Honorable
Jun 28, 2012
98
0
10,630
0
CPU: Phenom II X4 850
name: Propus
frequency: 3960
FSB*Multiplier: 240 * 16.5
CPU Voltage: 1.515
HT link: 2400
NB volts : AUTO
CPU Cooling: Air cooled/Hyper212 +
RAM: 8GB Ripjaws 1600mhz 9-9-9-24-2t
FSB: DRAM : 1.3.33
RAM Voltage: 1.5
MOBO: MSI 870a G54
OS: Win7 64 bit





At the end of the test I was around 44c under load as it cooled down alot in my area

I think ill call this my max as I dont wanna put to much voltage and Im at the perfect ram speed again
 

mlcaouette

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2011
1,189
0
19,460
64
Just an update. Finally got it stable at 3.6Ghz!

To whomever updates the table, will you update all my info as some of the currently listed info (as of 8/11) is from my old computer. Thanks!

Cpu: 720
Name: mlcaouette
Stepping: C2
Frequency: 3599
ref*multi: 205x17.5
CPU voltage: 1.44
CPU-NB: auto
nb frequency: 2468
NB volts: auto
RAM: 2x2GB 1600Mhz DDR3 9-9-9-24-2T @ 1.50V, running at 1644Mhz same timings and voltage
Motherboard: Asus sabertooth 990Fx
Cooling: Air cooling/Hyper 212+ P/P
OS: 7 64-bit

Screenie:
 

nna2

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2011
2,032
0
20,160
105


nice oc
 

king smp

Splendid
Moderator



is that unlocked?
I am trying to remember can you unlock a 720?
 

mlcaouette

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2011
1,189
0
19,460
64
My motherboard will unlock it to a quad core but it's not very stable even at stock clocks with raised voltages, so I just overclock the three good cores it has.

And thanks nna2, it took quite a long time to get all the settings this M/B has set just right so I'd have stability. Previously I was struggling to just get 3550Mhz, but with lots of trial and error I'm happy to have reached the overall system overclock that I have now.

Now it's time to tinker with the GTX 470 I just recently got. Last part left to OC!
 

truegenius

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
2,699
0
21,160
122

i tried
1.65v to hit 4.5GHz on 1090t on a board with only 4 phase for cpu :whistle:
and 80' C temperature
 

king smp

Splendid
Moderator



I have my 1100T at 1.53v to get 4.0ghz
but not stable at folding at home and needs more volts

what is the safe max voltage for a Thuban
is it 1.55v like a Deneb?
 

king smp

Splendid
Moderator
Cool
I have it at 1.55v now at 4ghz and I set it folding this morning before I left for work
i left at 7am and I wont be home until 10pm so if it didnt crash it should be stable
<fingers crossed>
 

king smp

Splendid
Moderator
man I would be happy with a stable 4ghz out of my 1100T LOL
almost there
will past every stability stress test for hours EXCEPT folding at home
folding at home is the best stress test on any system
I think I am hitting a thermal wall
these thubans dont like going over 55c from what I can tell
My old 965BE was fine up to 60-65c but this 1100T gets flaky over 55c
oh well winter is coming soon LOL
 

truegenius

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
2,699
0
21,160
122
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2484642
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2476900
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2473447
insane :ouch:
liquid gas colling system :p
specially those base clocks of over 300 :eek:
mine can only hit 280mhz :(

@king
less phase more risk, must read
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/315963-30-phase-control-mosfets-motherboard-safety
4.4ghz @1.5v on crosshair IV
http://www.pureoverclock.com/Review-detail/amd-phenom-ii-x6-1090t-black-edition/5/
so it looks like that your board is bottleneck
so try a little lower voltage and clocks to avoid risks and install a small fan on vrm so as to keep them cool
mine 1090t is stable at 3.9ghz @1.475v and at 80'c too
 

king smp

Splendid
Moderator
I have a Asus M4A77TD 4+1 board so that is very possible
currently I have it set at 3.9ghz 1.53v stable at max temp of 57c after many hours of folding at home stress testing
The good thing is that Asus has a very good reputation for making strong VRMs and it does have a nice large heatsink on it


your 1090T hits 80c!!!
that cant be right
Thubans have a safe max of 61c and should not go over 55c if possible
 

truegenius

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
2,699
0
21,160
122
my thuban generaly remains in 60-70 range during high workload :p ( like video encoding using atixcoder of ati tray tool, free but packed with features)
remember i live in a hot region and my thuban is cooled by a stock heat sink :D
maybe this hotness is due to me :whistle:

currently i am on 3.6ghz @1.3v and it is still.crossing 65'c in 5 min of prime testing. :eek:

but nowadays i mainly use my android phone and thus i barely use my pc thats why i am not investing in a heat sink :)
 

king smp

Splendid
Moderator
the 960T is a great CPU
I almost bought one a few months back but the sale ended and the 965BE dropped to 89
then the 1100T was only $168 so I couldnt pass it up
cheaper than a Sandybridge upgrade and will last me awhile before upgrading
 

truegenius

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
2,699
0
21,160
122


at the time of purchase i saw some spots on the cover of cpu (heat spreader cover on top of die)
so i was affraid of its overclocking capability but it seems like it is a nicely build piece
but my pc doesn' t boot at clocks above 4ghz (i need to use amd overdrive for further overclocking :D )
its ideal temp is 50'c at 3.6ghz @1.3v :p
may be she likes me alot :whistle:

android phone : karbonn A5 (Indian brand :D )
 

capsandogs

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012
81
0
10,630
0
cpu: 970
Name: Capsandogs
Stepping: RB-C3
Frequency: 3900
fsb*multi: 200*19.5
cpu volt: 1.4500
cpu-nb: auto
nb freq: 2000
nb volt: auto
ram: 8GB 1333 9-9-9-24-2T
mobo: msi nf725gm-p43
cooling: cm 212evo
os: 7 64bit
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2490741
screenie:




Probably shouldn't put this on the list (yet) though... it's not a great OC mostly because my MOBO sucks. I'm gonna get a new one when I get a little cash and reOC everything.
 

Similar threads


ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS