Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (
More info?)
Jozxyqk wrote:
> Some more questions, regarding the "special" predator/prey relationship
> in the Nergal finals:
Jumping on the bandgwagon:
> For reference, here is the "Afifa the Herald" example from the rules:
> ===
> Brian controls Afifa, The Herald and puts a Gehenna card in play. His
> prey burns 1 pool. Since Afifa's effect is not a card play or cardless
> action, her controller cannot choose who to target with the damage.
> Brian's natural prey, Chad, burns the 1 pool.
> ===
>
> Uriah Winter/Sonja Blue:
> By the rules presented, they seem to "ignore" Nergal completely, going
> around the table with the 4 "natural" Methuselahs.
This is more in par with the Millicent Smith clarification. I am to
believe that the way it is worded ("Millicent goes to the natural
predator"), the card will never be controlled by the Nergal player. Is
that the right assumption? Dunno.
But if Nergal
> somehow gains control of them (through a card effect), how would their
> change-of-control effects work?
>
> Uriah: Does he get to choose any other player who satisfies the
> requirements for Uriah to move? Or would Uriah always move on to the
> next player in the turn order (player #1)?
In the latter case, it just makes sense that the Nergal player can end
up controlling Uriah regardless of other effects played.
> Sonja: During any other player's turn, any other player can burn a
> pool to take control of Sonja? Or, again, does this fall back on
> natural turn order (during player 1's discard phase, player 4 can take
> control of her, but nobody else) ?
Same as above. But it is explicitly said that effects already in play
(i.e., not generated by regular card play or action announcement) are
to consider the natural prey or predator precedent. By that assumption,
the Nergal player will never be able to pay the pool for controlling
Sonja, and if he/she somehow end up controlling her permanently, he has
no natural predator, so she does not move anymore.
I'm not sure if this is the original designers' intention. If not,
maybe a clarification is needed to add that any effect-in-play that
refers to prey or predator refers to natural prey or predator, and for
these effects only, the Nergal player is to be considered the "natural
predator" of the 1st player and "natural prey" of the 4th in the turn
order.
If it is the intention, so much the better - makes things clear that no
card moving about is to consider Nergal as a target, which is another
indication of his power.
> Last Stand:
> The predator of the ousted Methuselah takes the next turn.
> Again, does this refer to the "natural" predator? So, if Last Stand
> is in play and Nergal is ousted, player #4 gets an additional turn no
> matter who did the ousting? Or what?
I'd bet that this follows Millincent Smith's precedent with the added
bonus that they probably didn't include Last Stand in the Nergal deck,
so we don't need to worry about Nergal controlling it (ok, there's
always Succubus Club, but who will use it?)
> I'm sure there are other things that will go a little wonky with
> turn-order, but these were the first few I can think of.
I'm afraid the organizers will be overwhelmed by questions like these
for this month.
best,
Fabio "Sooner" Macedo
Giovanni Newsletter Editor in absentia