Asus H97 plus setup?

BigBadBeef

Admirable
I am having difficulty setting up the BIOS in my new mobo.
I am trying to enable all the features such as dual channel memory and such but leave the overclocking options alone but unfortunately I can't make heads or tails in the menu since the two are mixed so I don't know where the standard features end and the overclock begins.

My Configuration:
Asus H97 PLUS,
Intel Xeon E3-1241v3,
Sapphire Radeon R9 280X Dual-X OC,
Cruicial memory 16GB 1600MHz,
WD black edition 2TB.

My experience is in Gigabyte motherboards, its my first time with asus. I just slammed the deafults button, but I'm not sure that is supposed to work as it should. Basically what I'm looking for is the first time setup.

Solution
Doesn't matter.
I've used both MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision with my Gigabyte GTX 760, EVGA Precision currently.

EVGA Precision and MSI Afterburner are both based off the same software, they just have a different UI.

If you are concerned about the program overclocking your GPU, MSI Afterburner doesn't change clock settings automatically.

It lets you change settings yourself, so you can just leave the card as it is, and just use the FPS counter part of it.

bradsctt

Distinguished
Dual channel will only work if you have ram cards in both channels, eg 3 or 4 cards. It will enable by itself if both channels are populated.

Leave the bios settings as default, it will work fine, or otherwise have a thorough read of the manual, it will tell you a lot.

Try Fraps for showing in game FPS counters
http://www.fraps.com/

bradsctt

Distinguished
Doesn't matter.
I've used both MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision with my Gigabyte GTX 760, EVGA Precision currently.

EVGA Precision and MSI Afterburner are both based off the same software, they just have a different UI.

If you are concerned about the program overclocking your GPU, MSI Afterburner doesn't change clock settings automatically.