Question Can CPU bottleneck cause stutters in game?

Apr 22, 2024
Hello. This is my first time posting, I found so many useful info from this forum so decided to ask. I recently upgraded my GPU and PSU.

Old spec:
CPU: Intel G4560
GPU: GTX 1050
RAM: 12GB
PSU: Corsair VS 450w

New spec:
CPU: Intel G4560 [I know it bottlenecks my GPU, but please bare with me, I'm upgrading incrementally due to budget constraints :) ]
GPU: RX 5700 XT
RAM: 12GB
PSU: Seasonic GX 650w Gold

I ran two benchmarks:
  1. Heavens benchmark: new spec runs much better FPS. Little no to stutters
  2. Final Fantasy XIV Dawntrail benchmark:
    This game is an MMO and there are sequences where it benchmarks how well a PC can run with a lot of character models & animations around. In non crowded areas, everything performs well with much better FPS just like Heavens benchmark. However in crowded areas, I noticed a lot of stutters much more than previously. As a comparison my old spec ran 25-28 FPS in this area but with little to no stutters.
Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong but I'm sort of expecting the new GPU, even if bottlenecked by the CPU should run the same fps as before with no stutters. I'm expecting the behavior to be similar to if I limit the fps to 30. But instead it now stutters heavily and as a result the fps drops as well. So while the average FPS is much higher, that particular area makes it unplayable for me.... I'd prefer lower fps with no stutters honestly.

So as the title said, can a CPU bottleneck cause this? a little bit of explanation would be helpful as I'm very curious about it.

Thanks.

It certainly can. I experienced this a few years ago when I had an older athlon x2 cpu and upgraded to an nvidia gts 450. Yes that long ago lol. But trying to play battlefield bad company 2 if I remember, And no matter what you changed you couldn’t get things to stop.