CASE FANS 2pin molex

mccann07

Honorable
Nov 6, 2013
Hi people. So I am building my first computer and bough a relatively cheap case seeing as it's my first build.. It comes with 4 case fans each with 2pin molex connectors. This is just to clear things up and please correct me if I am wrong....

So am I right to in thinking I can only connect these fans to my psu molex connectors to power them and because they only have 2 pins I will not be able to control the speed of the fans regardless of whether they are connected to the psu or mobo.. If I want to control fan speed I will have to purchase fans with the 3/4 pin connectors to connect to my mobo(which my mobo has 3 4pin case fan connectors built inn)

Is this correct?

I want to be able to control the speed of my fans... I will not be bale to do this with the 2pin molex.. I will need the newer 3/4 pin smaller connectors to connect to the mob to be able to control fan speed.

Don't want to sound dumb but just wanted to clear this up in my mind so I know im looking for and sorry if I have repeated myself in the same question...LOL
Thanks.

cklaubur

Distinguished
Are the connectors the same size of the 4-pin Molex connectors, but only have two pins in them? If so, you can connect them using a fan controller that has 4-pin Molex connectors on it. You won't have any speed readings, unless you have a separate yellow wire in a 3-pin connector (same 3-pin connector as what is used to connect to the motherboard, but with just one wire connected).

Casey

mccann07

Honorable
Nov 6, 2013
ok so basically as there are only 2 pins(ground and power) on the fans I will not be bale to control fan speed.. I can only do this with 3/4 pin connectors whether that be connected to mobo or fan controller, to control them they have to have 3/4pins.??

cklaubur

Distinguished