Cloned my HDD to my SSD, how do I make my SSD my boot drive?

Qurtson

Commendable
Jun 14, 2016
So hello guys, I'm a total noob at these computer stuff. Anyway, I'm having problems setting my new SSD as my boot drive. I have successfully cloned my HDD onto my SSD but I don't know how to set it as my boot drive, I have set it so that the SSD will run before the HDD in bios.

I'm not really sure if this matters or not but for my SSD it says that AHCI mode is activated.

And I actually tried to format my HDD but it didn't recommend me that since my "real" windows is on that disk (no problem formatting the SSD tho).

I also tried to temporarily remove the HDD so that it would only be one drive, but it didn't work. Got a black screen with a white text.

Here's a screenshot from my Disk Management:
227e4a3996.png

EDIT: Check my last post to see my solution.

Solution
I succeeded, I'm leaving my solution here so that if someone has the same problem they'll know what to do.

Basically like you can see if you read all the posts in this thread, I didn't get my cloning to work. And the way I got it to work was to use Samsung's Data Migration software, worked flawless, it cloned the whole drive. Works like a charm. (Almost too easy lol.)

And thank you everyone that tried to help me, appreciate it. :)
Hey there, Qurtson.

Well usually when you clone the your OS from the HDD to the SSD the only thing you might need to do is to set the boot priority from your BIOS/UEFI, which from what I understand you've already done.
However, it doesn't seem like you've cloned the OS as the SSD (F: ) does not have any of the partitions related to an OS drive (boot, page file, system, etc.).

I'd suggest that you check out this tutorial and try again to see if everything is OK afterwards: http://lifehacker.com/5837543/how-to-migrate-to-a-solid-state-drive-without-reinstalling-windows.