Question Could do with some advice on upgrading my RAM

MrYossu

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2013
Sorry if this is one of those boring questions that the experts hate, but I'm a software guy, not a hardware guy, and get very confused with things like memory upgrades. There are so many options!

I have a custom build PC (full specs here) with 32Gb RAM. I would like to upgrade, either by another 32Gb or 64Gb, depending on cost.

I am a software developer, and don't play games. Don't know if that makes any difference.

Anyone able to advise what would be best for me? Please let me know if there is any more information I need to supply.

Thanks

Lutfij

Titan
Are you working with this ram kit:
https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Categories/Products/Memory/VENGEANCE-LPX/p/CMK32GX4M2B3200C16
?

If so, first make sure you're on the latest BIOS version for your motherboard(since you've got updates pending, currently being on F30), then source the same ram kit and you have 64GB of ram. On a side note, did you make sure to enable X.M.P/manually input timings, frequency and voltage in BIOS to get the rams to run at DDR4-3200MHz?

Before you go out and purchase the additional ram kit, what sort of software do you develop?

Sorry if this is one of those boring questions that the experts hate, but I'm a software guy, not a hardware guy, and get very confused with things like memory upgrades. There are so many options!

I have a custom build PC (full specs here) with 32Gb RAM. I would like to upgrade, either by another 32Gb or 64Gb, depending on cost.

I am a software developer, and don't play games. Don't know if that makes any difference.

Anyone able to advise what would be best for me? Please let me know if there is any more information I need to supply.

Thanks
Are you using all the ram you have now?

As mentioned look into bumping the ram up to it's top speed....xmp/docp/bios setting.

MrYossu

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2013