Deck changes

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hello,

During a sealed tournament, is a player allowed to change their decks with
the cards that they have received?

For instance, may a player change his or her deck during a pre-release or a
booster draft, with the cards that they have received, during/between
rounds?

( I don't mean during a match(except for sideboarding))

Thank you
Jonathan
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Jonathan Fourie" <jonathan@jonREMOVEathan.za.net> writes:
> During a sealed tournament, is a player allowed to change their
> decks with the cards that they have received?
>
> For instance, may a player change his or her deck during a
> pre-release or a booster draft, with the cards that they have
> received, during/between rounds?

The by-the-book answer is no. What you designate as your deck during
deck construction must be what you play with for game 1 of each match.

However, in tournaments that don't have deck registration (such as
pre-releases around here, anyway), my experience is that since the
judges know that they have no way to enforce it, they allow deck
changes between matches.

The Penalty Guidelines entry for "Procedural Error -- Failure to
Desideboard" says in part, "Tournaments that do not use decklists
should not use this offense unless some method of registering
sideboards is used." I personally understand this to mean that
changing your deck is still wrong and shouldn't be done even if
decklists aren't being used, but penalties shouldn't be assessed for
it if it happens since there's no way to track it reliably without
deck registration. That's just my understanding, though, and not an
official answer of any kind.

--
Peter C.
"Timeline? This is no time to talk about time. We don't have the time!"
-- Troi, Star Trek: First Contact
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Jonathan Fourie <jonathan@jonREMOVEathan.za.net> wrote:
>During a sealed tournament, is a player allowed to change their decks with
>the cards that they have received?

In between duels in a match, sure. Between matches, no.

>For instance, may a player change his or her deck during a pre-release or a
>booster draft, with the cards that they have received, during/between
>rounds?

During a round, sure; that's just normal sideboarding, and since this is a
sealed-deck (Limited) tournament, your sideboard is 'all the cards you received
that are not currently in your deck' AND you need not swap them out one for
one.

Between rounds, no; the player MUST reset their deck to its originally-
constructed state ("de-sideboard") before each new match. How you build your
deck at the start of the tournament is how it must look for each new opponent;
you can't, partway through, realize "Doh, this doesn't work like I thought it
did" and then re-set your original configuration to be better.

You're free to sideboard _after_ game 1 of each match, but never _before_
game 1.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Q: Are we not men? A: We are Jonathan Fourie!
> Hello,
>
> During a sealed tournament, is a player allowed to change their decks with
> the cards that they have received?
>
> For instance, may a player change his or her deck during a pre-release or a
> booster draft, with the cards that they have received, during/between
> rounds?
>
> ( I don't mean during a match(except for sideboarding))

Just a note to say my experience exactly matches that of Peter Cooper Jr
(except that over here, there *is* deck registration at pre-release
tournaments, or there was the last time it affected me). While the by-
the-book answer is no, in general that's only enforced if there's deck
registration, and even the DCI penalty guidelines sort of wink at this.
So you might be able to depending how tournaments in your area are run.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY