[SOLVED] Does SATA port number matter?

Wheaten

Commendable
Nov 27, 2019
Hi,

After looking at my motherboard documentation I realized that the SATA ports are actually numbered which I didn't know and I've actually got an SSD with an OS installed on it in SATA port 5 which is the very last port.
(I didn't really think this through when plugging in drives in to my pc).

Does the SATA port order matter? i.e; If I put my SSD in SATA 0 will the OS boot faster?

I'm new to all this PC stuff so sorry about the noob question.

Thanks for your time and patience

Solution
On some (older) boards, different SATA ports had different capabilities.
SATA II vs SATA III. Or Intel chipset vs ASMedia.

Personally, I put the OS drive in the lowest numbered port, just for continuity sake. When looking at Disk Management, I always know which it is.

But generally, no.

USAFRet

Titan

Personally, I put the OS drive in the lowest numbered port, just for continuity sake. When looking at Disk Management, I always know which it is.

But generally, no.

Solution

Wheaten

Commendable
Nov 27, 2019
I have a Gigabyte Z87X-D3H-CF

But generally, no.
Thank you for the response!
It's a Gigabyte Z87X - D3H - CF

Would this be classified as SATA III? I've attached some screenshots, not too sure if this will be helpful at all. I'd like to order it logically so it is displayed systematically in Disk Management too. My drives are all in random numbers, I assumed the numbering myself and that's why my drives are in SATA 5, 2, 4 =/.

View: https://imgur.com/a/1cf24T6

Thanks for the response.

Wheaten

Commendable
Nov 27, 2019
I don't know if I should edit out now seeing as I've already posted it but I asked if it was SATA 3 and I've just seen in the screenshot I posted that it clearly says SATA "3". Apologies.

USAFRet

Titan
They are SATA III, (6Gb/s).
Any one of those 6 will work.

The SATA III (6 Gb/s) and SATA II (3Gb/s) can get a bit confusing.