E6420 vs E6600 vs E6700 - Newbie need help!

phassat

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2007
Hi, I'm a newbie here and need some help on overclocking information. Some of my questions maybe silly and I would like to pardon in advance.
1. If I use E6420 and let say achieve 3.0Ghz will my system quicker compared to E6600 or E6700? I would use air cooling in my plan, maybe something like Zalman 9700 or Thermalright U1 plus fan
2. If the system refuse to boot, do I still have the access to Bios in order to change the settings back to where was the system still stable?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

minty

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
1. If I use E6420 and let say achieve 3.0Ghz will my system quicker compared to E6600 or E6700?
If we are talking about those two on stock speeds, I think yes, it will be "faster", but maybe not necessarily the same in terms of temperatures/power consumption (Im not sure, but guessing since you probably need to raise the voltages a bit).

2. If the system refuse to boot, do I still have the access to Bios in order to change the settings back to where was the system still stable?
Nope. If the system doesnt boot after a non-successful overclock, then you have some choices to reset it to its default values (clearing CMOS in the MoBo, pushing a key or I think messing around with the power button on the PSU but Im not sure about this last one), then you can boot again "safely" and start over.

phassat

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2007
1. If I use E6420 and let say achieve 3.0Ghz will my system quicker compared to E6600 or E6700?
If we are talking about those two on stock speeds, I think yes, it will be "faster", but maybe not necessarily the same in terms of temperatures/power consumption (Im not sure, but guessing since you probably need to raise the voltages a bit).