Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (
More info?)
Zhambah <zhambah@hotmail.com> sent:
Lots of little questions, they all seem to be from one deck?
> 1) ok, does death pit offering/nights of souls betrayal affect shirei
> shinzos caretaker ability?
Shirei, Shizo's Caretaker {4}{B} Legendary Creature - Spirit 2/2
/ Whenever a creature with power 1 or less is put into your graveyard
from play, you may return that creature card to play under your control
at end of turn if Shirei, Shizo's Caretaker is still in play.
This is a leaves-play trigger, so it will check what power the creature
had just before it left play. Imagine your Glory Seeker dies while
Shirei is in play. It's normally a 2/2, so it wouldn't trigger
Shirei's ability. If Night of Souls' Betrayal is in play, though, then
it leaves play as a 1/1 creature, and does trigger Shirei's ability.
Conversely, with a Death Pit Offering giving your creatures +2/+2, none
of them will be able to trigger Shirei's ability.
> 2) can i sacrifice sakkura tribe elder and have it return at the end of
> turn
Yes, you can. Sakura-Tribe Elder is a 1/1 creature, and will trigger
Shirei's ability because its power (1) is 1 or less. The fact that
it's a sacrifice rather than being destroyed doesn't change whether
Shirei's ability triggers, and the fact that you gain some benefit from
the sacrifice doesn't matter either. Shirei just looks for creatures
that were in play, and then got put into the graveyard.
> 3) what happens to the legend rule when i play azusa, my oponent plays
> azusa and then i play another azusa
Azusa, Lost but Seeking {2}{G} Legendary Creature - Human Monk 1/2
/ You may play two additional lands on each of your turns.
The legend rule remains the same, no matter how many times players play
Azusa. The one that your opponent plays will invoke the legend rule,
and both Azusa get put into the graveyard. The one that you play will
stick around.
If you happened to have Shirei in play, then when your opponent plays
his or her Azusa, the death of your one will trigger Shirei's ability.
At the end of your opponent's turn you'll have the option to put your
Azusa back into play. If you then play another Azusa, they'll again
invoke the Legend rule, and both go to the graveyard. This triggers
Azusa twice, and they can both come back at the end of your turn. If
you do bring them both back, they'll both go to the graveyard again,
and when the at-end-of-turn trigger point next comes around at the
end of your opponent's turn, you'll have the option to bring either
or both back again.
> 4) if, say 3, ashen skin zubera die in the same turn then does my oponent
> discard 9 cards or 3?
It depends when they die with respect to one another. If they die one
after another, then the first will see one Zubera (itself) the second
will see itself and the first, and the third will see itself and the
first two, for a total of 6 cards discarded. If they die
simultaneously, each will be able to count the others as being put into
a graveyard from play this turn, and each will therefore see itself and
the other two, for a total of 9 cards discarded.
> 5) if i play devouring greed and sacrifice iname life aspect aswell as a
> couple of zuberas do i still get there effect when/if i can return them to
> my hand?
Devouring Greed has the sacrifice of the Spirits as a cost, so anything
that triggers from those sacrifices will go on top of Devouring Greed
on the stack and resolve before it does. All of the sacrifices will
occur before you choose targets for any of the triggered abilities.
The triggered ability of Iname, Life Aspect targets any number of
Spirit cards in your graveyard, so it's able to pick the other Spirits
(such as the Zubera) to be returned to your hand. Note that you pick
the Spirits just after you've put Devouring Greed on the stack, but you
choose whether to remove Iname when the triggered ability resolves. If
you do, they're back in your hand before the Devouring Greed resolves.
When the Devouring Greed resolves, it deals damage ragardless of
anything that happened to the Spirits after they were sacrificed - it
doesn't watch your graveyard the whole time to make sure they're still
there.
> 6) also during the same motion i am able to play all the zuberas again and
> sac hana kami and return devouring greed and play in again sacrificing all
> zuberas again. do i gain bonus's from the earlier sacrificed creatures?
The amount of damage dealt by the second Devouring Greed will be based
on the number of Spirits you sacrifice when you play it the second time.
It won't count the Spirits you sacrificed previously, as it's a whole
new spell. However, if you sacrifice Zubera each time, they do notice
that some other Zubera went to the graveyard from play the previous
time round. So, quick example with numbers:
In play: land plus Two Ashen-Skin Zubera, one Hana Kami, one
Iname, Life Aspect.
Play Devouring Greed sacrificing three Spirits: the two Zubera and
Iname. Three triggered abilities trigger. Put the two Zubera ones
on the stack, then Iname's, with Iname's targeting the Ashen-Skin
Zubera cards in the graveyard and the Zubera abilities targeting some
opponents. Resolve from the top - remove Iname from the game and
return the Zubera to your hand, then each Zubera sees that two Zubera
died this turn, so each causes two cards to be discarded. Devouring
Greed resolves, player loses 2+(2*3)=8 life, you gain 8 life.
Sacrifice Hana Kami to return the Devouring Greed card to your hand.
That resolves, you get the card back.
Play both Zubera from your hand.
Play Devouring Greed, sacrificing the two Zubera. Both trigger, and
their triggered abilities go on the stack. When they resolve, they
see that four Zubera died this turn (the two you just sac'd, and the
two from earlier in the turn) and cause a discard of four cards each.
Devouring Greed resolves, and the targeted player loses 2+(2*2)=6 life,
you gain 6 life.
Hope that makes sense.
--
-- zoe