First time watercooling loop

benikens

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2011
This is my intended loop parts but as it's my first attempt i would appreciate feedback, say if parts i've chosen are crap or for some unforeseen reason won't work together.

cpu block: Swiftech Apogee XT Rev2 CPU Water Block Swiftech Apogee XT Rev2 CPU Water Block
rad: XSPC RX360 Radiator
pump: Swiftech MCP655 12V Speed Variable Pump
pump: XSPC Single 5.25in Bay Reservoir UV Blue XSPC Single 5.25in Bay Reservoir UV Blue
tubing: XSPC High Flex Hose, 1/2, Blue/UV Blue
fittings: Bitspower G1/4 Silver Shining 1/2 Fitting

One thing I'm not entirely certain on is exactly how many fittings i will need? by the looks the cpu block has fittings so i assume 2 for rad and 2 for pump and 2 for res?

For rad fans I'll prob stick a couple scythe slipstreams on there. The case i have is a haf x so I'm hoping to mount the rad in the top of the case, I'd prefer to have the entire loop inside the case, though as I'm currently using both the VGA bracket and VGA duct inside the case space is limited (tho this is also largely due to my prolimatech supermega which would no long have to be present once i go water). From what I've read running distilled water + killcoil seems to be a good idea for the liquid side of things?

The above total's at $388 on pccasegear (I'm an aussie) but if there's anything better for cheaper/comparable price I'd like to know, already a budget stretch cause this computer has cost a lot already.

Almost forgot to mention what this is cooling, my build is an i7-2600k @ 4.5ghz, z68x-ud7, 8gb(4gbx2) g skill 2133mhz, gigabyte OC2 HD 6970 @ 920mhz, corsair ax850.

Not planning to watercool my graphics card yet as this is a first attempt, if this goes well then i may extend the loop in the future.

Hi.

1- For fittings you need two per components, so, two for block, two for rad and two for reservoir
2- Correct, distiller water plus Silver Killcoils are the best option for keep your loop clean.