Google, IE and Firefox

SeekerG

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
Hi all,

I have a problem with using Google together with IE or Firefox.

I'm an ex-pat Brit living in Germany, even though I speak and understand German my OS is in English. When I select IE Google starts in either English or in German, even though I have entered 'Google.com' as my internet preference. I can not determin any pattern nor can I find the cause. When in the German mode German sites receive preference, which is not what I want.

I would like to switch to Firefox but although it works fine it will only operate in the German mode with no option to select English.

I would prefer help with the Firefox problem.

Any help would appreciated as this is getting on my t*t.

Regards.

Karl. (a good old English name :D )

SeekerG

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
Many thanks Tigsounds,

I'll give it a try and see what happens.

Just one small point, I'm not a beginner but I'm not that far removed. How can I check my present 'Port' in the event that I want to reverse the sequence, or is this not necessary?

Regards.

Karl.

Go to control panel, network connections.

Right-click your network adapter that you use to access the internet. Select Properties.
In the General tab, scroll down to Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) click to highlight, click Properties
You can leave "obtain an IP address automatically" selected, but check "use the following DNS server address" and enter the main and alternate Earthlink DNS addresses.

I don't use Earthlink, but their DNS is good. You won't see much difference in web surfing unless you go to a site that gives a "404" error, sometimes you'll see an Earthlink error message.

You may see a bit of a latency because Earthlink is a U.S. company. This is an experiment to see how you like a different DNS. There are of course many others, many in Europe that won't have the latency, but this will let you see if this was the cause of flip-flopping languages.