GPU for Rift and future MMOs?

jtmcgilbery

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2011
Hi everyone. I've been reading this site for a while now. I just recently registered and this is my first time posting.

Okay, so like the title says, I need a new GPU. I don't have much to spend but I'm willing go big enough to get good quality. Problem is I don't know where the good buys are, because I don't have any hands on experience with high end cards. All I have is tons of $30-50 cards lying around.

Alright, so I run on my 1GB DDR2 9500 GT, I think Galaxy made it. I play on a 20" monitor (1600x900) in full screen mode. On World of Warcraft, it gives me ~20fps on true ultra settings. So I simply dropped shadows and liquid detail to the lowest setting and haven't gone under 55fps yet. I really care about fps performance over the pretty stuff. WoW is well known for it's low requirements, and I love that aspect.

Anyway, the problems occur with Rift. I set my game to the preset minimum only to get an avg 32fps. On medium I got 11fps. I do not like this! I tried the low quality render option... I know I said that the fine details of the graphics aren't important to me, but that is pretty bad. My character doesn't look invisible when I stealth, he just crouches down. =( Even at 84fps I'll pass.

Okay, so to the point.

My brother uses the 1GB DDR3 HD 4670 @ 1920x1080 and gets 36 frames on low (preset between minimum and medium, obviously), so I figured that card could put my 1600x900 around 35fps on medium. I am trying to get 60fps on medium.

So I was thinking of going one step above the 4670 and I ran into the 1GB DDR3 9800 GT and it is suppose to put the 4670 to shame. I found EVGA's 9800 on TigerDirect for $70 and I am highly considering it, but will that give me 60fps on medium? It's an older card, I realize. Also, the fact that it isn't DX11 doesn't bother me.