How Bad is Steam? I'm Considering Getting Left4Dead 2

vchov

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2009
I know there are lot's of complaints about Steam. Is it worth getting? Why or why not? Do I need to be online to play it? Thanks!

Solution
I've been using it for several years now and find it to be fun, handy, and dependable. Most complaints are unwarranted. Steam itself is free, and games available on Steam are undergoing a Christmas sale right now until January 3rd, with Left 4 Dead 2 currently 25% off. And even when that's not going on, there are new sales weekly.

I seen a number of benefits: it's free; there's no need to find disks; you can play your games on any computer with Steam installed; you can stay connected with friends and see what they're up to; and you can keep track of achievements.

Of course, there are legitimate downsides to any online distribution software: there's no physical media for data backups; there's no ability to play online when Steam...

welshmousepk

Distinguished
it can be annoying, but it can also be great.

its nice having console like achievments and friend lists. and not having to use a disk, or download a no-cd crack from a dodgy website.

but its not nice when oyu can play your games without an internet connection. MW2 is a perfect example of this. at a lan where 7 of us had legit copies of the game, but couldnt play it...

ive just bought L4D2 myself, its DLing now. i dont now if it requires a net conection to play though.

VBDude

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2006
I've been using it for several years now and find it to be fun, handy, and dependable. Most complaints are unwarranted. Steam itself is free, and games available on Steam are undergoing a Christmas sale right now until January 3rd, with Left 4 Dead 2 currently 25% off. And even when that's not going on, there are new sales weekly.