[SOLVED] How bottlenecked is my new MSI RTX 2060 Ventus 6GB OC ?

Noki0100

Reputable
Feb 28, 2019
First post!

I just purchased a new MSI RTX 2060 Ventus 6GB OC and it's working well. I've seen a decent performance improvement so far. But now I'm wondering if my 6 year old rig needs some extra love.

I'm running an intel i7 3770K @ 3.9GHZ (slightly overclocked) on an AsRock Z77 Extreme4 with 4 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz Dual Channel RAM all powered by a nice a quiet Corsair 620W PSU.

I have a Cooler Master Cosmos case, so it's large and airy with a bunch of 120MM fans and the CPU has a Zalman CNPS10X Flex CPU Cooler. Unfortunately the fan is extracting air from it rather than blowing onto it (since the RAM gets in the way) but it seems to keep it quiet and cool enough.
- The fans are all 'networked' so the whole case set spin up and spin down based on CPU temp. This seems to work well, keeping it quiet at idle and cool under load.

Monitor-wise I have a BenQ 120Hz 1080p screen usually, but currently borrowing a middle tier Asus 4K 60Hz screen to try out. torn between which I prefer. Smoothness or Pixels!

My question is how bottle-necked am I? Is it worth finding a second hand CPU to fit this board for an extra boost or do I need to lay out for new CPU, Motherboard and RAM?

I play a lot of Cities Skylines, and while it's running better, it is a CPU heavy game. Admittedly I don't play much, especially not the latest and (graphically) greatest, but if I am losing a significant chunk of performance to my Ivy Bridge CPU then I'd like to address it.

A cross section of what I play...
  • Cities Skylines
  • Rocket League
  • Doom 2016
  • Forged Alliance (yes I'm old)
  • StarCraft 2
  • Stelaris
  • Since of a Solar Empire
  • Vermintide 2
Thoughts, recommendations, comments all welcome...

Thanks for reading,
Noki0100