[SOLVED] How to stop CPU from overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 26, 2020
Hi, I have just recently built my PC and I noticed that whenever I play games the clockspeed went up to around 4.1. My CPU temp went up to 80-85c when gaming.
I tried setting the clock speed in the dragon center to 3600 but then it got fixed at that frequency even when its idle (if that's safe then im ok with it)
I'm using the stock cooler and I'm not planning to overclock with it.

Is there a way to set maximun clock speed at the base clock? I'm new to these things

Im using the MSI forge 100r case with stock fans

another thing is that my CPU temp sits around 50c when im not doing anything so I thought its to do with my cooling. However when I stress test it with CPU-Z my CPU sits around 73c which is ok when I googled it. I'm not sure anymore if its to do with my cooling or not.

CPU - Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard - x570 carbon pro

Thanks

Solution

another thing is that my CPU temp sits around 50c when im not doing anything so I thought its to do with my cooling. However when I stress test it with CPU-Z my CPU sits around 73c which is ok when I googled it. I'm not sure anymore if its to do with my cooling or not.
You might be hearing your fans ramp up and down when at idle and think your processor is overheating. It's not, it's just the way Ryzen works with these low-energy temp spikes the fans follow as the boosts happen. Because the spikes are very low energy they don't add anything to the actual thermal state of the processor.

The thing to do is set a fan curve to ignore those temperature spikes. I set mine to a flat, barely audible fan speed up to the...