How to tell amount of threads a game utilizes?

Jan 3, 2019
I am new to the computer world so note that I'm not a programmer or anything but I'm trying to figure out how many threads certain games use. How do I go about doing so? My debate comes with the fact that I'm debating between getting a 6 multithreaded core CPU or an 8 single threaded core CPU.

I know this won't make much of a difference but how do I go about determining which games will utilize the additional threads and which won't?

Solution

HTT is NOT a scheduling trick,just like OoO or ILP it takes instructions from more then one thread and runs them on the same core,it has not much to do with interruptions or I/O. (just look at the below video,how do you get double the performance if it works only on interruptions? )
http://www.cslab.ece.ntua.gr/courses/advcomparch/2007/material/readings/Intel%20Hyper-Threading%20Technology.pdf

Rookie, you can use process hacker or process explorer both...

kanewolf

Titan
Your two choices, of 6 hyperthreaded or 8 non-hyperthreaded really won't make any difference in games for quite a while. Games have to be written for the widest audience. So unless a specific game identifies more than quad core, you will be perfectly fine. The next "step up" will be 6 cores. Either CPU will cover that. The 8 physical core will almost always be better than the 6 hyperthreaded cores. It still has more REAL resources. Hyperthreading (or SMT as AMD calls it) is a scheduling trick the CPU plays with the OS to try and get more work done when there is a lot of interruptions, like I/O. Some things CAN benefit from hyperthreaded hardware. But more physical resources will work in all situations.

Jan 3, 2019