[SOLVED] *i7 4790 @ 3.60GHz at 100c when gaming!? **PLEASE HELP**

May 23, 2020
Hi, I'm 13 and have been saving for SO LONG and I recently bought a gaming pc off of facebook marketplace for $700(aud), and when I'm playing games like overwatch, the cpu temp will go to about 80c-100c? The cpu idles at around 35c-45c? I also noticed, when i push on the cpu fan/heatsink (I'm not sure what is is, I'm new to the PCMR) the temps will drop about 5c-8c? Specs:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 @ 3.60GHz
RAM:16.0GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 1201MHz ( 2 8GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE STICKS)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. Z97M-PLUS (SOCKET 1150)
GPU:4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (MSI)
STORAGE:2794GB Western Digital WDC WD30EZRX-00D8PB0 (SATA )

Solution
Hi, I'm 13 and have been saving for SO LONG and I recently bought a gaming pc off of facebook marketplace for $700(aud), and when I'm playing games like overwatch, the cpu temp will go to about 80c-100c? The cpu idles at around 35c-45c? I also noticed, when i push on the cpu fan/heatsink (I'm not sure what is is, I'm new to the PCMR) the temps will drop about 5c-8c? Specs:

Hi @Jyecam28,

1st off, Welcome to Tom's!

2nd, Good job on saving up & buying the PC...

Mrgr74

Reputable
BANNED

Hi @Jyecam28,

1st off, Welcome to Tom's!

2nd, Good job on saving up & buying the PC. :)

3rd. Please take a pic of the inside of your PC so we can see if you have a stock or aftermarket heat sink & fan setup. Due to its age, (DDR3 era) there is a possibility that the thermal paste between your CPU & heat sink has dried out. If that's the case, it'll not adequately do it's job and so you'll have high temps which will lead to all sorts of problems. Everything from poor gaming performance to random shutdowns to even hardware failure.

Whats the airflow like inside your PC? Do you have any case fans? Is everything clean & clear of dust?