Question I'm not sure if my cpu has a fan?

Mar 28, 2019
I'm not sure if I have a fan on my cpu. Can the cooler be any type of cooler? Also not sure how to upload photos. This is my first time posting in any forum ever.

McKeu

Proper
Mar 27, 2019
Highly unlikely you have no fan, although you can have systems with passive cooling only. Those are low power CPUs and mostly older systems, though. Could also be liquid cooling, but I guess you would know, if you have that.
In doubt: Open your case and have a look. Just turn the PC off and unplug the power cord before. Also: Don't touch anything in there. You might damage components by accident and inexperience.

Mar 28, 2019
Well last night it took the whole thing apart and cleaned every singly part. This pc use to be pretty nice in 2010 and it still is now. Just some part are getting dated. I've only started leanringbabout pcs tho in the last couple of weeks. All I see is this 2 tower lookin things with now fan.

McKeu

Proper
Mar 27, 2019
Well, it would probably look something like this:

maxresdefault.jpg

Mar 28, 2019
That looks like a passive cooler to me.
Okay what does that mean lol? All I known everytime I start my pc I get a message that pops up saying cpu fan error. Doesn't seem to cause any problems for me just wondering whats that all about. Also backbwhen I got it from someone in 2010 it had a lot of problems and I was cleaning out virus and stuff one day and reset the bios back to default. Idk if I need to have any thing set in the bios or not. My concern was when I play the division 2 my computer gets super hot. Now since I cleaned all the fans out its not as hot but still.

McKeu

Proper
Mar 27, 2019
You can ignore that error, if your PC is not making any problems. You might have a setting in the BIOS for the CPU fan, maybe for disabling it. But as I said, you can probably just go on ignoring the CPU fan error.