Inspiron 531 max memory

bmead144

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2009
Hi all. Noob here . Have a dell Inpiron 531 ( ok so I'm not a gamer/power user). I can just imagine what some may be thinking! :sleep: But hey it's alright for some light office multi tasking and general web surfing, isn'it? Cpu's a athlon 64 x2 5000+.Chipset's nVIDIA mcp61.I have a dedicated video card, so not using the onboard graphics. I just installed vista business x64. Every source I've been able to find states that max memory is 4GB(4 x 1GB DIMMS).But this pc came oe with vista 32bit so I'm wondering since I'm now running x64 OS whether or not I'm still relegated to the 4GB. From what I've been able to ascertain,this is depedant on several factors(mobo architecture, OS,chipset...etc.) I've thus far been unable to find any relevant info on the mobo or chipset that gives any indication about their respective physical memory limitations. I realize I could 'buy & try', but finances negate that option. I'm wondering if perhaps a free utility to test the system exists? Any way to tell from bios(and if so how?) It's not a 'big deal' but I'd still like to know (if for nothing else than what I can learn in the process). Any really relevant info appreciated.

btk1w1

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2008
Go to crucial and scan your system:

http://www.crucial.com/

Different hardware (i.e. Motherboard / chipset) determine the maximum memory you can have installed.

If your motherboard will only support 4GB max installing a 64 bit operating system won't be much, if any benefit.

A 32 bit operating system can have more RAM installed, as much as you want, but only 4GB will be recognised. Once this is shared with the graphics it might only show 3.5GB.

Crucial will give you the best / most accurate options for your upgrade.

tmgirvin

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2011