Installing RGB fans without RGB header, and a few questions..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Exploding PSU

Honorable
Jul 17, 2018
Good morning everyone.

So, a bit of a background.I have a PC with a few aging 'generic, run-of-the-mill, $5 unknown-brand' case fans. I have 4 of them and they're getting uncomfortably loud these days (I used to have 5, but one of them stopped spinning for whatever reason. Well, can't expect much from a $5 product anyway, in fact, it's impressive they lasted that long). I don't mind a bit of noise coming out from my computer, but those fans sound eerily similar to a dying hard drive, so I think replacement is in order...

So, I'm planning to get myself a few fans with RGB support, just to add a bit of flair to my PC. I've read a bit about this RGB things, but the more I read, the more I get confused (please bear with me, I'm completely new to all this RGB business, the only 'RGB' I ever installed inside my PC was an aquarium lamp, a failed one too). From what I've read, I'm going to need an RGB header on my motherboard. Well, I don't have any RGB header on my motherboard.. Ok, they said I'm going to need something called an RGB controller. This is where I'm stuck. There are so many of them to choose from, and I couldn't find any 'comprehensive' guide about which one I should choose. And to add even more insult to my bleeding injury, there's this talk of 'competing RGB standards', with different brands controlling different standards, and apparently they're not compatible with each other, and none of them are guaranteed to work on my setup. Man, I just want 3 of those fans to light my setup up, nothing more... To sum it up, my questions :

■ Is it possible to have RGB fans working on my system that has no RGB header?
From what I've read, it's possible, but I'm not so sure... If it is indeed possible :