Question IT career....part Deux!

Arkena

Commendable
Jun 12, 2017
Hi,

I did a CS degree and graduated in 2010....so 9 years ago now...wow.

I suffered a burnout 6 and 5 years ago now and along the way gained a neurological diagnosis to boot.
My last IT job i was the IT administrator for an office with about 60 people, upgrading hardware, cable routing issues, minor server issues, active directory negotiating with service providers etc

I didnt want anything to do with computers for several years because of all the stress i associated with them. Now i am finding myself wanting to go back to IT but a be my own boss, money on the side type deal.

So for instance running a home based pc repair/upgrade service to my local community to supplement my income. What qualifications can get me going again and in the right direction as to domestic pc repair (software and hardware)?

Ive heard Comp TIA is a good starting place but doesnt seem to have much about building pc's or repairing software faults etc.

All suggestions kindly received...

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador
You don't need any qualifications to offer services to others. Certifications are for companies wanting something to validate that new employees, or current employees, have sufficient training to perform basic tasks. Often these are minimums or just something to put you above someone without it. Or at least have the appropriate background knowledge to learn and answer intelligently when it comes to computer and IT issues.

If you want to have qualifications listed somewhere, I suppose they can be worth it if you are going into more professional realms. Keep in mind that CompTia certifications now expire, so this would become a regular expense. If it is 'on the side' I doubt you can justify it. Simply offering your services to the local community at somewhat bargain rates might be enough to attract people without certifications.