Jump to Ryzen

SergeantXFX

Commendable
Dec 10, 2016
Hey guys, I have been rocking a Q6600 non OC for the past 8 years or so. The CPU + Mobo + 4GB Ram are the only things still standing from that build. I plan on upgrading to a Ryzen 2600x with 16GB ram and keeping my current RX 460 for gaming until I can muster enough money for a better card.

My questions are:

1. How big is the performance difference going to be? I game at 1600x900 and mostly have Discord/Browser and a few other programs open. No major plans for productivity workloads and plan on getting a 1080 monitor when I get a better card.

2. Is there any scenario in which my Q6600 will perform better than a brand new CPU? I just wanna make sure the upgrade is total in every aspect.

3. Will I be able to get a decent 3-4 years of gaming with a 2600x re? I know this is pure speculation because the tech industry is always evolving but just give me your estimates.

I am aware that just for pure gaming Intel's options will get me more FPS. I do however wanna support Team Red this time and give them a try :)

Solution
1. Pretty big although I can't give you exact numbers.
https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core2-Quad-Q6600-vs-Intel-Core-i7-2600/1980vs620
I went from a Q6600 to a G5400 (2C/4T @3.7ghz) and the FPS nearly doubled so the 2600 will be a good improvement.

2. No

3. Get the 2600, it's cheaper and the stock cooler is quite good. As for time it should last quite awhile and with AMD using the AM4 socket until 2020 you have a decent upgrade path.

I had a 4770K before I got this Ryzen 2600 (long story short had to sell my old computer to repair my car and have slowly built this system up) and the Ryzen 2600 performs quite well. XFR2 will boost the CPU from what I've seen up to 4.3ghz+ on each core as long as the cooling is good and...

WildCard999

Titan
1. Pretty big although I can't give you exact numbers.