Kira and Horobi question

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

How deos Horobi, Death's Wail interact with Kira, Great Glass Spinner?


If say both are in play, if my opponent uses Rod of Ruin, and deals
one damage to Kira. Will Kira be destroyed due to the fact that
regardless of the countering ability, Kira was already targeted?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Somewhere, somehow, somewhen god_is_good478@yahoo.co.in said...
>
>How deos Horobi, Death's Wail interact with Kira, Great Glass Spinner?
>
>
>If say both are in play, if my opponent uses Rod of Ruin, and deals
>one damage to Kira. Will Kira be destroyed due to the fact that
>regardless of the countering ability, Kira was already targeted?
>

Yes Kira will be destroyed (barring regeneration and such). Once the ability of
the rod of ruin targets KGGS, both it's and the ability of HDW trigger, and go
on the stack.

Once the triggered ability of HDW resolves, KGGS will be destroyed. Countering
Rod of ruin's ability does nothing to the already triggered HDW's ability.

Kind regards,
Stef Focus
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

god_is_good478@yahoo.co.in <god_is_good478@yahoo.co.in> wrote:
>How deos Horobi, Death's Wail interact with Kira, Great Glass Spinner?

Horobi, Death's Wail 2BB Legendary Creature -- Spirit
4/4 Flying Whenever a creature becomes the target of a spell or ability,
destroy that creature.
Kira, Great Glass-Spinner 1UU Legendary Creature -- Spirit
2/2 Flying Creatures you control have "Whenever this creature becomes the
target of a spell or ability for the first time in a turn, counter that spell
or ability.".

They don't "interact" in any particular way. Horobi's ability _does not target_
anything, and neither does Kira's static ability OR the ability that Kira's
ability grants to your creatures... so neither one can trigger the other.
(Both _affect_ creatures; that is way way different from TARGETTING them.
Both _trigger off_ of the creature becoming the target of something; that
does not mean the ability that is TRIGGERING targets the creature as well.)

If a creature you control becomes the target of a spell or ability for the
first time in a turn, Horobi's ability triggers, as does the ability that
Kira gives to that creature. Both triggered abilities go on the stack; if
the same player controls Horobi and the creature, that player decides their
ordering. Otherwise, the active player's goes on the stack first, and
opponent's goes on on top. _Both will resolve_, whichever order they end up
in... meaning that the creature gets destroyed, AND the ability that
targetted it (triggering both of these in the first place) gets countered.

Destroying the creature with Horobi's ability does not somehow "turn off"
or counter the triggered ability it had from Kira, which is already on the
stack. Countering the original ability with Kira's granted ability also does
not somehow "go back and make Horobi not trigger after all", and does not
counter _Horobi's_ ability. That's what I mean by saying "they don't interact"
- neither one particularly cares that the other triggered, and neither one
DOES anything to the other ability, and both resolve.

>If say both are in play, if my opponent uses Rod of Ruin, and deals
>one damage to Kira. Will Kira be destroyed due to the fact that
>regardless of the countering ability, Kira was already targeted?

Horobi's ability will trigger because Kira became the target of the Rod
ability. IF this is the first time this turn Kira became the target of a
spell or ability, then the ability Kira gives herself (since she is a
creature you control, she gets the ability her ability's effect gives just
like any other creature you control would) triggers too. Both will resolve,
since neither does anything to COUNTER the other one; Horobi's ability
destroys Kira, before the Rod ability could resolve ... and Kira's ability
counters the Rod ability. End result: Rod ability countered & Kira destroyed.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

One of the voices in my head - or was it David DeLaney? - just said...
> Both will resolve,
> since neither does anything to COUNTER the other one; Horobi's ability
> destroys Kira, before the Rod ability could resolve ... and Kira's ability
> counters the Rod ability. End result: Rod ability countered & Kira destroyed.

And countering the Rod ability is even more useless than it sounds; it
would have happened anyway, what with the missing target.