[SOLVED] Memory RAM for PC - is important the voltage value for performance and impact in the motherboard?

Manuel Jordan

Commendable
Apr 3, 2022
There is the option to buy a new PC Desktop, about the memory ram, there are these two options
  • Memory Kingston Fury Beast, 16GB, DDR4, 3200 MHz, PC4-25600, CL16, 1.35V.
  • Memory Kingston Fury Beast, 16GB, DDR4, 2666 MHz, PC4-21300, CL16, 1.2V.

At a first glance the first seems better than the second due the MHz value. But being curious - the reason of this post - observe that the volts values are different too: 1.2 vs 1.35

Because I am not an expert, about the volts

Question 1: What is the best recommendation, the higher or lower? and why? or it does not matter?
Question 2 What is the best recommendation for the motherboard, the higher or lower? and why? or it does not matter?

My concern is that it has any negative impact in the motherboard in someway

Consider the two questions involving performance and time life concerns.

Solution
Ram faster than 2600 is technically overclocked, hence needing extra voltage to run properly.
This is no big deal.
The particular motherboard and cpu will have limitations on what speed ram it will support. The difference you are looking at is not great, and if 3200 is supported, I would go with that if the price is reasonable.

Manuel Jordan

Commendable
Apr 3, 2022
Thanks for the reply and for your suggestion

A SATA SSD pulls more than that. Why would it be an issue for the motherboard?

How an assumption: perhaps the motherboard can support a maximum of recommended voltage. My concern is avoid problems is a medium-time, so I want avoid reduce the time life of any component of hardware.

Ram faster than 2600 is technically overclocked, hence needing extra voltage to run properly.
This is no big deal.