Mixing Memory on Two Channel Four Slot Setup

JaredDM

Honorable
Oddly this is my first time ever asking a question on here, haha. Usually I only answer them.

I have a GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 motherboard which had four memory slots and runs in dual channel memory mode. It is currently running 2 x 4Gb and I need to upgrade it. Since the price to buy a 16Gb kit is only $15 more than buying another of the same memory kit that's already in there I'm thinking of going with that.

I'm just wondering if there would be any speed impact of leaving my old memory in there and having two different size kits mixed in there (they are all the same speed specs DDR3-1600). I would assume that the two gray slots are one set in dual channel and the two black slots are a different set in dual channel mode. So having two separate kits of different sizes shouldn't hurt right? As long as they are paired together properly?

Or am I missing something? Normally I never mix.

Solution
If they are the same brand, same speed, same timing (and hpefully same OM modules), you shouldn't have much of a problem, may have to raise DRAM voltage a pinch. It may impact your CPU OC as CPU has moire modules to control. You can also sell the other ones.

Curious .... what are you using that is finding 2 x 4GB inadequate

JaredDM

Honorable
Actually this system isn't OC'd at all, nor has it ever played a single game (though it would be good for it I suppose). So I don't think any voltage adjustment will be necessary. The system is used solely for data recovery work using PC-3000. I just use up a lot of RAM dealing with the huge amounts of data that go through and are analyzed using this system. Today it maxed out the 8GB so badly I finally had to press the reset button because it couldn't even load task manager. Typically it's running around 70% when it's not even being heavily used.