Monitor works fine with motherboard, but when I connect it to the gpu it says no signal

jayistyping

Prominent
Nov 18, 2017
So I just built a new pc , https://pcpartpicker.com/list/vHc6Cy

The case in that link is different but everything else is the same, didn’t realize that the monitor I bought doesn’t come with a hdmi port and I have to plug it in to the motherboard, after awhile of trouble shooting the “no signal” on the monitor I removed the gpu and it worked. I could see my motherboards bios. BUT I’m now worried that I’m not gonna be able to use my gpu. Does it work like that? Should I install Windows whilst the gpu is out so when it’s it’s already done with I just install the gpu on and would it be fine? BTW IM NEW TO THIS. If you haven’t realized by now. I’ve even tried using a vga to hdmi adaptor to see if it would work and connected it to my gpu, that didn’t work either. Please someone help. I hope I didn’t confuse anyone

Solution
Ok, I found it. In BIOS, go to Chipset menu>SA configuration. Set Internal graphics to Enabled, and set Primary display to iGFX. That will allow you to have display from motherboard while GPU is installed.

Neruu

Prominent
Jun 5, 2017
ur gpu should work even without any installation
You should try connecting your gpu from a different connection (dp or dvi) or if u have TV in ur house which has hdmi connection, you might want to try connecting ur pc to that TV and see if it can picks up anything from ur gpu

I have also experience similar problem before where connecting from either hdmi or display port to my old monitor (which didn't support 1080p) would make me get a no signal/signal out of range
I get around this problem by connecting it into a FHD TV, then install windows and my gpu driver, then lower the resolution to 1366x768 (I still can't see my bios screen though, so when I boot my monitor won't show anything until my pc actually enter windows)