My first ever desktop PC

sVOID

Honorable
Mar 8, 2013
Hi all,
I'm extremely new to the PC scene as I have just made my first computer. I have had a crappy netbook in the past but it was obviously just for surfing the net. Anyway I decided to build my own 'proper' machine. It is not a top spec system by any means but I didn't want to go crazy for my very first computer so I limited myself to £700. It would be great to have some feedback on what people think of it, is it capable? What I could do to improve it etc.
Spec is as follows;
CPU: Core i5 3570K changed the speed to 4.3Ghz
CPU Cooler: Xigmatek Loki
Operating System: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX2
RAM: 8GB Corsair 1600mhz Vengeance
Hard drive: Western Digital 1Tb,
Graphics card: XFX HD 7870
Case: Corsair Carbide 500R White
PSU: Corsair VS650
2 additional Corsair top exhaust fans to hopefully keep things cool.
Also I have bought Crysis 3 to try gaming if anyone has a similar spec machine could you let me know what settings you have to get the best visuals/performance. I look forward to your responses,
Thanks.
Dave.

scragnoff

Honorable
Feb 6, 2013
Hi sVoid!

You must really like Windows 8, because you mentioned it twice! :)

Your build is excellent. I just have some suggestions.

If you can afford it, I suggest getting the 212 Evo as the CPU cooler. It performs more efficiently.

There's a video on youtube that shows the game using the HD 7870, although it's a Sapphire OC version. With 1080p resolutions, Crysis 3 settings at Very High, 8x AA, with V-Sync of, it can run at average fps of 33.6 with a minimum of 19 and a maximum of 99.
Here's the link.

I'd also suggest going for an SSD if you can stretch your budget even further. Although it does not directly speed up frame rates, it dramatically cuts down your load times.

sVOID

Honorable
Mar 8, 2013
Do you think the hybrid water heatsinks are any good? I think I prefer the idea of air coolers in that they are cheaper!