Need advice on my first build.

chrisb3431

Honorable
Dec 13, 2012
Hey everyone, so this is my first build and I already have some ideas in place but I figured I would ask around to see what recommendations you all would have for me. My budget is anywhere from 1000 to say 1300?

So far I've come up with these few ideas,

1. ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
2. i5-3570K 3.40 GHz 6MB Intel Smart Cache LGA1155
3. Either a samsung 830 or 840 SSD as well as a Western Digital WD RE4 WD5003ABYX 500GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
4. Can't seem to pick a video card for the life of me so that's one place I definitely need some help.
5. CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
6. Either the Corsair Enthusiast Series TX 750 power supply or Corsair Gaming Series 800-Watt 80 Plus
7. Thinking of doing a watercooling system but haven't decided yet.

So that's what I have in mind so far, feel free to give me all your thoughts and suggestions.

g-unit1111

Titan
There's no point in purchasing the Sabertooth - it's costly, overrated, and that thermal armor is a heat trap rather than a heat preventer. Stay away from the Corsair GS series - they don't use the best OEM for that model. If you do a liquid loop, don't get a closed loop like the H100, get a real custom loop.

For that price I'd suggest a build like this:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($214.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($34.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($132.98 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($39.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($88.98 @ Newegg)
Storage: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($139.99 @ Newegg)