Need Advice on New XFX 4890 VC

bendrummin58

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2009
Hey guys, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to hardware, so I apologize if my question that I'm about to ask is ridiculous. For the sake of motive, let me give some background first though.

For the past 2-3 years, I've been using the Saphire Ati Radeon x1950 XT card. For the past couple of months, I've noticed a huge increase in artifacting (to the point where I can no longer play Crysis or Call of Duty MW 1/2 without the screen being blinded with vertex tears). Additionally, blue and black color blotches flicker on the screen at random intervals. While playing games, it isn't uncommon for the temperature to rise up beyond 80/90 C. My guess is the heat made things go bad.

So, after putting LOTS of time digging through reviews and whatnot, I ended up deciding to purchase an XFX Radeon HD 4890 card (for the cost and because I don't see DX11 as something to wet my pants for). Now, the card itself hasn't gotten to my house yet (just ordered it last night), but judging by the reviews, I *think* the fan/cooling system is pretty decent. However, I'm concerned with what'll happen months from now.

Now to my question, hehe. With this new card of mine, would it be recommended to install my own cooling system and/or fan to ensure it won't end up like my X1950? I want this card to last me for several years (or at least until most games switch to DX11 and prove that upgrading is worth it--but even then, I suppose DX12 will be coming out, hah!).

I'm really scared about the longevity of my card. Please help!

EDIT: However, if the current fan/cooling for the XFX card is good enough, I'd prefer to NOT buy my own.

Thank you!! :pt1cable:

Solution