• You can do better

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • You suck

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Frankenstein606

Honorable
Jun 1, 2013
Hello there, I have a question about a custom gaming build I plan on doing in the near future from Newegg.

I've never built a custom PC before but I'm a huge gamer and I'm sick of buying a stock $600 medium-grade PC every 2 or so years. It's time to invest some effort and money.

So I know a good bit about parts and such but I'm certain there are people on here that know A LOT more than I do.

Here's my wish list: https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=22496625

Also, In there is a monitor that I plan on buying to go with the monitor I already have (both monitors are exactly the same). I plan on having a dual screen set-up.

Please check it out and let me know what I've done wrong/what I could do better.

Frankenstein606

Honorable
Jun 1, 2013

X79

Honorable
Okay so I voted for "you can do better".

1 - I'm more into Cooler Master (CM) cases like the HAF X or NZXT Phantom stuff.

2 - Sabertooth is a bit too high-end a motherboard I think. A B75 motherboard would be better if you're not OC'ing.

3 - Get an i5 CPU and K for OC'ing or no K if you're not OC'ing.

4 - Only 1 GPU. SLI/CF is not a point you want to start at, usually.

5 - You won't need extra cooling if you don't OC.

6 - You can lower the PSU a little. Perhaps 650W-700W, if you take 1 GPU away. Also don't go for Rosewill and keep it 80+ bronze/silver etc.

7 - You can go for a 1TB 7200RPM HDD and then one 128GB SSD for a balance of speed and storage.

8 - NOT 512GB SSD! (Unless you're swimming in cash or something). Too expensive as of yet, per GB.

9 - Only 8GB RAM is needed for gaming and 1600Mhz is the sweetpot.

10 - There's lesser optical drives that'll do you just as well.

11 - Check out the K90 keyboard from Corsair.

Frankenstein606

Honorable
Jun 1, 2013