[SOLVED] New PC Build

Hi there,

I've been out of the hardware gaming space since 2015 and thus have outdated knowledge. I've also have had no need for upgraded hardware, as I have not played any intensive games for years and mostly use my computer for work. Until now, that has provided satisfactory performance. Not anymore however.

Thus, I've assembled components for a new PC and I wanted some guidance as to the sanity of my build. My current PC is from Haswell/Maxwell architecture.

Budget:

I think no more than $2K.

Requirements:

Well, I want to get back into gaming. I want to have high-graphics settings on a 1440p resolution. The most intensive game is probably going to be Escape from Tarkov and then some less intensive (or older) games.

However, I want to be able to play newer games when they come, preferably on high settings. I also want good performance when I work (I'm a developer), which for my needs boils down to a fast processor. Right now, performance is so bad, I need to use the laptop provided by my employer, but I really want to use my desktop again.

I'm also playing around with Unreal in my spare-time and I'd like to achieve good performance there as well. Compiling projects, consuming assets and so on is a pain on my current machine.

Also, I'd like to stay away from Nvidia, albeit I've always bought Nvidia (one could even say I used to be a fanboy), I've had too many issues on Linux and do not intent to go back.

Proposed Build:

This is where I need your help. I've tried to get back into the loop, look at benchmarks and so on. I know we recently got treated to DDR5 but looking at the price/performance, I'm really not that bothered for now. Let me know if I'm wrong.

This is what I landed on:

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 3.7 GHz 12-Core Processor ($343.90 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 chromax.black 82.52 CFM CPU Cooler ($109.95 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Asus PRIME B550-PLUS ATX AM4 Motherboard ($135.99 @ Adorama)