New PVA versus used S-PVA?

lowep

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2010
Hello,

I am a freelance photographer looking for a flat panel monitor for doing my own photo and video editing. So far I have found two very options from Eizo for about the same price:

1) Used Eizo HD2441W - this is a 24 inch unit from 2007 in excellent condition with 16-bit S-PVA, video bandwidth of 202.5MHz, brighness 450 cd/m2 and HDMI signal input

2) New Eizo EV2333WH - this is a new 23 inch with PVA, video bandwidth of 148.5MHz, brightness 300 cd/m2 and no HDMI signal input.

So I would like your advice on how much difference in quality would I get from the S-PVA versus the PVA TFT-technology for viewing and editing images?

Also would appreciate any comments about the likely lifespan of either of these monitors before the colors start to go awol?

If you were me would you opt for the older (higher quality) HD2441W or the new EV2333WH?

Thanks very much for your input and advice,

Peter :pt1cable:

The main difference between S-PVA and regular PVA is the response time compensation. The older S-PVA monitor you mention has somewhat better response times, but the newer monitor has 3000:1 static contrast ratio. However, the EV2333WH uses the same cPVA panel internally as the Samsung F2380, reviewed here:
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/samsung_f2380.htm
Among other differences, cPVA uses 6 bits per color channel and uses temporal dithering to simulate 8 bits per color channel.

However, for photo/video editing, IPS (including its variants H-IPS, P-IPS, and to some extent e-IPS) is usually considered superior to VA panels. The LaCie 724 is probably out of your price range, but you might think about something along the lines of a Dell U2410 or HP LP2475W

lowep

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2010