Mephistopheles

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2003
I'm currently deciding on what to put in my new home computer. I'm a researcher and will be programming a lot, as well as playing games, encoding video, editing in Corel, a small amount of 3DSMAX rendering. As for the programs I'll be running, I want to learn more about SMP programming. I already know the basics, but I want to get more experience. It's also particularly important for me because the physics institute in which I work will be acquiring a cluster and it would be nice if I knew how to exploit the advantages of SMP better...

So these are the basic components I had decided to go for:

Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester)
DFI Lan Party UT nForce4 Ultra-D
1GB DDR500 OCZ VX Gold
Seagate Barracuda 300 GB 7200 RPM SATA
Thermaltake Armor - Silver
OCZ PowerStream 520W
DVD/CD Recorder (haven't decided which one, could be any)
BFG GeForce 7800GTX OC

This doesn't include monitor, keyboard and mouse, because these will be recycled from my old computer for the time being simply because I just don't have more money than that.

Now I have a question: I will OC this system and will probably want to settle at a clock generator frequency of around 250Mhz (2.5Ghz on both cores, clock gen in sync with DDR500) for long-term operation of this system.

This will probably require a good amount of cooling. Now I have to go for one of the following choices:

-Zalman CNPS7700Cu Cooler
-ThermalRight XP-120 Cooler + Fan
-Zalman CNPS9500? Where is this cooler? It was supposed to have been launched at Computex, wasn't it?

Now I was more inclined to choose between the first two: CNPS7700Cu or XP-120. But which one should it be? As for the 9500... well, I would have to wait... Any ideas? Or suggestions? Please?

Any other comments on this new system would also be appreciated.

G

Top notch rig, exactly what I would pick. Maybe later on more ram can come in handy if you work with large file in rendering and such!