Newly built computer restarting intermittently

MrYonkers

Distinguished
May 1, 2009
So, this is my first time building a computer from scratch. I must admit, I was very nervous. Well, I got everything hooked up properly (I think?), but I seem to be suffering from random restarts with no rhyme or reason. It has restarted while trying to install Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit (various points during the process, never getting past the "Expanding Files..." step), and also just while messing around in the BIOS. No errors or anything, just restarts as if someone pressed the RESET button.

I was able to get further (relatively speaking) into the Windows install by upping the voltage to the memory to 2.0 V (was set at 1.8V), but it hasn't solved my problem. This is really the only setting I have messed with, as I noticed on other threads this was suggested as a probable cause for system restarts (my memory is rated at 2.0-2.1V).

Here are the specs of my PC.

GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P
AMD Phenom 9950 HD995ZXAGHBOX
EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+
OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK (I have two of these kits, so 8GB total)
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS
Antec 900 case
Sony Optiarc DVD Burner AD-7240S-0B
D-Link WDA-1320

ANY help on this matter would be greatly appreciated, as I'm kinda at a loss here.

n3f0ur

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2009
Go to BIOS, load failsafe default, save & exit, go back to bios, set these:

Advanced BIOS Features, Away Mode = disabled
Integrated Peripherals, OnChip SATA Type = AHCI
Power Management Setup, ACPI Suspend Type = S3
PC Health Status, CPU Smart FAN Control = disabled

On a working pc, get this on a disk, boot it up on the new rig for 8+ passes (overnight):

http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

MrYonkers

Distinguished
May 1, 2009