Ninjutsu and attacking

Jax

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2002
213
0
18,680
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Simple Question: Would a Ninja put into play by Ninjutsu trigger
abilities that trigger "Whenever a creature attacks"?

(This was probably asked in connection with Gemini Engine a while ago,
but it never hurts to be sure...)
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Jax" <IlGreven@hotmail.com> writes:
> Simple Question: Would a Ninja put into play by Ninjutsu trigger
> abilities that trigger "Whenever a creature attacks"?

Nope. It merely comes into play tapped and attacking. It never changes
from being non-attacking to being attacking, so those kinds of
abilities don't trigger.

> (This was probably asked in connection with Gemini Engine a while ago,
> but it never hurts to be sure...)

Yes, and the answer is in the Darksteel FAQ for Gemini Engine
(although not in the Betrayers FAQ for Ninjutsu, oddly enough).

--
Peter C.
"This specification allows any of these approaches. Solving the
Halting Problem is considered extra credit."
-- RFC 3028, "Sieve: A Mail Filtering Language"
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Jax wrote:

> Simple Question: Would a Ninja put into play by Ninjutsu trigger
> abilities that trigger "Whenever a creature attacks"?

No. That trigger only goes off when you declare creatures as
attackers at the beginning of your Declare Attackers step.
>
> (This was probably asked in connection with Gemini Engine a while ago,
> but it never hurts to be sure...)

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 10 Mar 2005 14:53:50 -0800, Jax <IlGreven@hotmail.com> wrote:
>Simple Question: Would a Ninja put into play by Ninjutsu trigger
>abilities that trigger "Whenever a creature attacks"?

No, actually. The Ninja is never declared as an attacker; it appears in
full-blown "attack mode". "Whenever an attacker comes into play" would
trigger, but there aren't any such triggered abilities...

>(This was probably asked in connection with Gemini Engine a while ago,
>but it never hurts to be sure...)

Gatherer says it was:

*Dec 1, 2004 - The Twin token won't trigger any abilities that trigger "when [a
creature] attacks."

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 

Latest posts