Ninjutsu and Squelch

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hi there,

Had a bit of confusion over what would happen if you played Squelch
targeting the Ninjutsu ability of one of the Betrayers of Kamigawa ninja
creatures...would the bounced attacking creature stay in the player's hand?
Would both the ninja and bounced creature go back to hand? Would it be a
reset with the original attacking creature staying in play? Any help would
be appreciated. Thanks.

Squelch
1U
Instant
Counter target activated ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)
Draw a card.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Bob The Builder wrote:

> Hi there,
>
> Had a bit of confusion over what would happen if you played Squelch
> targeting the Ninjutsu ability of one of the Betrayers of Kamigawa ninja
> creatures...would the bounced attacking creature stay in the player's
> hand?
> Would both the ninja and bounced creature go back to hand? Would it be a
> reset with the original attacking creature staying in play? Any help
> would
> be appreciated. Thanks.
>
> Squelch
> 1U
> Instant
> Counter target activated ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)
> Draw a card.

You would counter the ninjutsu activated ability. This prevents
resolution *but does not refund costs*. Putting the ninja in
play is the effect, but putting the original attacker back in your
hand is part of the cost. So the original attacker stays in your
hand, but the ninja never comes out. The owner could use the
ninjutsu ability again if he has another unblocked attacker,
however.

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Wed, 2 Feb 2005 09:14:56 -0800, Bob The Builder <boi1dur@yahoo.com> wrote:
>Had a bit of confusion over what would happen if you played Squelch
>targeting the Ninjutsu ability of one of the Betrayers of Kamigawa ninja
>creatures...would the bounced attacking creature stay in the player's hand?

Yes - why would they go anywhere else? The attacking creature was returned as
part of the activation cost of Ninjutsu, before Squelch can even be announced.

>Would both the ninja and bounced creature go back to hand?

No. The Ninja never -leaves- the hand; it would only get into play as part of
the resolution of Ninjutsu.

> Would it be a
>reset with the original attacking creature staying in play?

A what? "Reset" isn't a Magic term - are you thinking of something from
Yu-Gi-Oh maybe? The Ninjutsu ability was legally announced, and legally
countered; nothing illegal has occurred.

Ninjutsu <cost> means "<cost>,Return an unblocked attacker you control to
owner's hand,Reveal this card as long as this ability is on the stack: Put
this card into play tapped and attacking.", and works like any other activated
ability once you get over the oddness of the activation costs.

If a use of Ninjutsu is countered, the attacker -already was- returned to
hand; the Ninja card in hand stops being revealed; and the ability leaves the
stack. The ability does not resolve, so the Ninja card never gets put into
play.

(If the Ninjutsu of that particular card was used more than once in response
to itself, Squelch will only counter one of the uses.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Bob The Builder <boi1dur@yahoo.com> wrote:

> Hi there,
>
> Had a bit of confusion over what would happen if you played Squelch
> targeting the Ninjutsu ability of one of the Betrayers of Kamigawa ninja
> creatures...would the bounced attacking creature stay in the player's hand?
> Would both the ninja and bounced creature go back to hand? Would it be a
> reset with the original attacking creature staying in play? Any help would
> be appreciated. Thanks.
>
> Squelch
> 1U
> Instant
> Counter target activated ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)
> Draw a card.

Returning the attacking creature to hand is part of the cost of playing
Ninjutsu, so the attacker will be in your hand long before your opponent
has a chance of playing Squelch.
The end result will be the Ninja not coming into play, even though the
"bounced" creature would still be in your hand.

- ∞
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Bob the Builder sez:

<<
>Had a bit of confusion over what would happen if you played Squelch
>targeting the Ninjutsu ability of one of the Betrayers of Kamigawa ninja
>creatures...would the bounced attacking creature stay in the player's hand?
>Would both the ninja and bounced creature go back to hand? Would it be a
>reset with the original attacking creature staying in play? Any help would
>be appreciated. Thanks.
>
>>

Ok. Here's what happens.

Player A attacks. Player B doesn't block.
Player A plays a ninjutsu ability, returning an unblocked attacker to hand as
part of the cost.
Player B Squelches ninjutsu.
All pass.
Squelch resolves, ninjutsu is countered. Ninja stays in hand (nothing else
about ninjutsu says if it's countered, the card with the ability goes to the
grave), bounced creature stays in hand (all costs stay paid). That's it.


----
Farewell to the undefeated, undisputed king of late night...
RIP Johnny Carson (1925-2005)
 

TRENDING THREADS