[SOLVED] No performance gain on my overclocked GPU in games

Dec 5, 2018
Hey!

I am very new to overclocking and I recently overclocked my GPU (a GTX 1080 Founder's Edition) using the MSI Afterburner and the MSI Kombustor as a benchmarking app. When I run the benchmark I can definitely see some improvement in frames comparing to the non-overclocked version of my GPU, but in-game there is absolutely no difference in frames than before overclocking (and yes, I am always loading the overclocked profile, and it does load because I can hear the fan going mad).

Could anyone help me fix this? Also i am using an i7-7700 non-k for anyone wondering, so I don't think there are any bottlenecks occurring.

Solution
There are always bottlenecks. What game and resolution are you running? What settings? If you want to see an improvement in FPS you need to make sure your GPU IS the bottleneck by increasing the settings beyond what the GPU is capable of. Then you can easily see differences. If you don't then something else is wrong of there really is a bottleneck either in the game engine/CPU or some other factor. V-sync, or G-Sync, would more or less limit you to a set FPS so if you are running that, then you should increase the graphics settings.

Often with Pascal keeping the card cooler is more important than going for the highest clock speeds. You will get more consistency if you don't run it on the ragged edge of stability due to temperature.

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador