No room for soundcard.

apamilo

Distinguished
May 23, 2011
Hey guys i recieved a really nice headset as a gift and i am using them through my onboard sound and i know this is not doing them justice. My pc case is full as my gpus are massive and there is no room left. Is there a soundcard alternative? I have seen some amps by astro and creative out there but i am not sure if they will deliver a comparable sound quality. I want something that will give these senheiser pc360 a decent sound quality boost and also surround sound for gaming as i hear they have great direction sound. I am pretty new to this scene so i would really appreciate some info or reccomendations on products.

Solution
Soundcards will come with drivers, but like any piece of hardware, I recommend getting the most recent version off the internet.

You *shouldn't* have to uninstall the Realtek drivers you currently have; you should be able to switch which output device is used via the Windows Control Panel. That being said, some soundcard manufactures do not work well when another sound device is installed. For an ASUS/Auznetech/HT Omega card, I've never had to uninstall my onboard sound drivers.

apamilo

Distinguished
May 23, 2011
A gigabyte p67a. It is a mid range mainboard so i have no idea if it offers any of those features. Is there any way i can set 7.1 surround? I currently use realtek audio manager but no idea if its any good.

apamilo

Distinguished
May 23, 2011
Thanks for the replies guys. I just opened up my pc and realised there is actually a pciex1 slot avaliable above my gpus *doh*. This means i can purchase an internal sound card so i will look into good price/quality models. What do you guys think of the creative soundblaster x-fi gamer soundcard?

apamilo

Distinguished
May 23, 2011
Ok purple stank i will take a look. I have the sennheiser pc360 headset. I have just read some soundcards will give great directional sound aswel as give stereo headsets surround sound.