Question Nvidia GTX 1080ti dying

RedamnTion

Prominent
Nov 26, 2022
Hi guys, my PC is currently running the nvidia 1080ti as a graphics card and I've been using it for around 6 years now. Recently I’ve been experiencing occasional screen glitches which force me to restart my computer, especially so if I try play games such as Apex.

I have 2 questions if that’s okay:
1) Does this mean my graphics card is dying and I need to replace it

2) Can I simply replace my graphics card without replacing my entire setup? Or would it be more advisable to build another PC from scratch?

Thanks a lot in advance for the advice guys!

punkncat

Polypheme
Ambassador
Complete system specs, please.

There have been a couple of bad Nvidia drivers as of late. I cannot recall the entire version, but ".22" caused quite a bit of widespread issue and was quickly replaced with 526.47 which apparently was also buggy, and then quickly with 526.98 which for me has been stable.
Might be worth trying a new driver.

Are you monitoring temps? Has the GPU been cleaned regularly? Ever repasted?

RedamnTion

Prominent
Nov 26, 2022
Complete system specs, please.

There have been a couple of bad Nvidia drivers as of late. I cannot recall the entire version, but ".22" caused quite a bit of widespread issue and was quickly replaced with 526.47 which apparently was also buggy, and then quickly with 526.98 which for me has been stable.
Might be worth trying a new driver.

Are you monitoring temps? Has the GPU been cleaned regularly? Ever repasted?

Thanks for the swift reply!! For the full build it’s:
  1. i7-7700 3.6GHz
  2. ASUS ROG Strix B250G Gaming MATX
  3. 16GB Team Elite
  4. 16GB Team Elite
  5. Samsung 960EVO
  6. Toshiba 3TB SATA3
  7. Coolermaster V650F/650W 80+Gold
  8. 11GD5X ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix Gaming
  9. IN WIN 301 Black Edition Micro-ATX
  10. Thermaltake Riing 12RGB Radiator Fans x3